Around the Home, Art & Creativity, Works in Progress

Happily and Completely Lost – Assemblage Art

When’s the last time you were so lost in something, undistracted by the world, completely absorbed in the moment, expressing your creativity, unhindered and unafraid? That beautiful place is exactly where I lived for large sections of the past three days. Initially inspired by a sleepless night, when my brain just wouldn’t shut off, I formulated an idea for some artwork. Artwork that I wanted to create for my favorite person (AKA, hubby) and myself. Just because. Just to enjoy in our home. Not to sell or to get anyone else to like it or for any other silly reason.

IMG_2975

Here I’m experimenting with layout of my objects

I got really excited about this art. There wasn’t anything else pressing on the agenda. It’s funny how I almost felt guilty for fully enjoying three days of pure creative process. I don’t know if I’ve ever had that much fun making and hanging art. Perhaps it’s important to interrupt the “ought to’s” and agenda on a regular basis to keep those creative juices flowing in other work, no? I think it’s true and beneficial, for the soul even.

I started out with three 24″x24″ wood paneled old paintings that I decided to repurpose. I also gathered other small, inexpensive canvases and painting surfaces, old frames, etc., things I already had laying around. I even picked up a few random goodies at Brook’s Woodcraft, one of my favorite stores in town (full of treasures!).

Anyhow, here’s a little about the process (in pictures & captions), as well as the finished three collages. If you feel so inclined to create some personal and significant art for your own home, feel free to steal ideas…

IMG_2973

Metal, wood, silver, gold, canvas, you name it

IMG_2976

I taped off some simple patterns on the small canvases to include in each collage then used gold spray paint

IMG_2979

Once all my components were ready to go, I used Gorilla glue, wood glue and lots of heavy objects to hold everything in place while drying

yellow_collage-WEB

The Yellow One – FinishedCollage #1

yellow_detail1-WEB

Details. I love the “banana paper” on the left, it’s such a fun texture

yellow_detail2-WEB

Picture frame and embroidery floss. How can you go wrong?

yellow_collage_side-WEB

Here you can see the thickness of the 24″x24″ wood panel that it’s all mounted on. No framing necessary

red_collage-WEB

The Red One – Finished Collage #2

red_detail3-WEB

Some hand lettered (white paint) scripture

red_detail1-WEB

Yes, I used a bit of graphic design too and printed out some compilations of digitially colored vintage wallpaper patterns

blue_collage-WEB

The Blue One – Finished Collage #3

blue_detail4-WEB

Our wedding date

blue_detail2-WEB

Of course my favorite part of this one is the metal letters…but the “E” was painted in

all_hung3-web

All three up above our dining room table. I definitely made sure to mount these into wall studs, they’re a bit hefty

all_hung8-web

It’s about time we had more art on those white walls

all_hung1-web

I love the way the sunlight and bold colors reflect off the metal

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve thanked God for the gift of creativity and beautiful white walls to hang art on, especially in the past few days. If you’ve tried something like this, or decide to, feel free to  link back to your project in the comments of this post, I would love to see it.

~Holly

Standard

5 thoughts on “Happily and Completely Lost – Assemblage Art

  1. Debbie Beals says:

    Love the results of your delightful creativity — and appreciate you sharing your process, too. And the collages look wonderful on the white wall above your dining room … can’t wait to see the results in person! 🙂 With joy, mom ‘b’ 😉

    • Thank you so much! I’m sorry that I’m just now getting back to your sweet comment, I’ve been out of the “blog loop” for a little while. Thanks for coming by!

Leave a Reply

