Around the Home, Art & Creativity

Sticks & Strings

Sticks and stones may break my bones, but sticks and strings…now that’s a different story. Our guest bedroom was needing a bit of decoration on the dresser and I wasn’t getting excited about another fake flower arrangement. So I pulled out some colorful embroidery floss and made my own “bouquet” of sticks. What do you think? I realize I’m not the first person to do this, but it was a lot of fun.

IMG_8753

A bouquet of sticks add a little bit of earthy charm and color to the room

I pretty much just tied a knot to begin each new section of color, then wrapped the floss around the tail. I also found that a little clear-drying craft glue (I like Sobo) helps to hold strands in place when you want to tuck away those last bits at the end of the row.

IMG_8728

Tying a knot to begin another section of colored embroidery floss

IMG_8749

The finished product is on the guest room dresser now

My sweet Dad helped us repaint the guest bedroom a couple weekends ago when my parents and sister came to visit. It was really nice to have them here and Dad was so helpful too! The walls were kind of a yellow and were looking a bit beat up, so the fresh coat of white, with gray doors looks really nice.

IMG_8704

Here’s Dad, after the prepping was finished, ready to paint!

IMG_8743

A fresh new guest room

Doesn’t the bouquet of sticks and strings look cute there in the corner? I added a few paper cranes for fun. You should try it sometime. Maybe even with much larger sticks and yarn or something, could be really fantastic. And if you do, tell me about it, I’d love to see a picture!

Standard

8 thoughts on “Sticks & Strings

Leave a Reply

