Art & Creativity, Works in Progress

San Luis Obispo Mission Bells

Last week I began a painting based on a photo I took of the SLO Mission bells.

IMG_8233

Bells in the courtyard of SLO Mission.

For those of you inquiring minds, here’s a little background on the Mission:

Founded September 1, 1772 by Father Junipero Serra

Named for Saint Louis, Bishop of Toulouse, France, this Mission is located in the middle of downtown San Luis Obispo at the corner of Monterey and Chorro Street. It marks nearly the halfway point along the California Mission Chain. It’s sometimes known as the Mission in the Valley of Bears, located close to The Los Osos area because bear meat is what saved the Mission from starvation (see referenced link).

Truth be told, this collage/painting started in one direction, but I wasn’t really liking where it was headed or the color scheme. I do that sometimes! It can take a few tries for me. So here’s how this one started:

2014-01-16 09.26.09-1

This is how it started out. Not really what I was going for color-wise and otherwise.

When I came back to it a week later, I decided to cover up the original painting with a whole new texture and color scheme.Β 

2014-01-21 14.18.49

Background created with layers of paper. I used a darker blue/gray background color then went over the whole thing with dry brush layers of white.2014-01-21 14.54.36In progress. This is after I placed the b&w photo of the lattice and bells on top.2014-01-22 07.01.26Finished.2014-01-22 07.01.38You can see a page from a cookbook showing through here. Yes, it does say “Spanish Pickles”.2014-01-22 07.02.12I love the softness of this new version.

Standard

6 thoughts on “San Luis Obispo Mission Bells

  1. Debbie. :-) says:

    Wonderful result — plus I enjoyed seeing your approaches to this work, too. Plus the cookbook page with the ‘Spanish pickles’ is a sweet touch! Smiles and joy, Debbie πŸ™‚

  2. Mark Allman says:

    I am sure a picture does not do your work justice. I would like to see it in person to see the texture. It looks great.

Leave a Reply

