Art & Creativity, From the Vault, Uncategorized

From the Vault: Shiny Kitchen Objects

The was one of my color theory projects, back in the day. I can’t remember what the assignment was exactly, but I believe it had something to do with the colors and nuances of shiny metal, as well as working with bold colors that pop against one another. Here are my three objects…

image1 image2 image3

Fun, huh? The gradation of colors in the backgrounds really create a lot of depth. In the paintings I’ve been working on lately, I’m trying to think about adding depth in my backdrop by not using just one solid color (which is how I started out). One example:

sewing_machine24x24_web

First sewing machine painting with one solid color for the background.

P_sewing_machine_web

A more recent painting with a lot more variation of color in the background.

I like both of these paintings. But the first one definitely has more of a “flat” feel to it. I like the dimension that’s added to the second one by using a gradation of color in the background. I think initially I was concerned my background would be too busy once I added the linoleum block print pattern over the top if I didn’t just use a solid color. But I’m finding that’s not necessarily the case. The trick is using the right color for the block pattern, something that blends well with the background, but stands out enough so you know it’s there. Making sense?

Just some of my recent discoveries. But many of my discoveries can be traced back to lessons I learned a long time ago. It’s just a matter of recalling and applying them 🙂

Have a wonderful weekend!

line

Standard

One thought on “From the Vault: Shiny Kitchen Objects

Leave a Reply

