Art & Creativity, Uncategorized

Some Favorite & Often Used Materials

In case you’re ever looking to tackle a decoupage, collage or some other paper/glue/paint kinda project, I thought I would share with you some of the materials that I just can’t go without. From left to right, here’s my recommendation:

  1. Certified Artist Gesso. This is for priming a surface to paint on with Acrylics. You can’t use this with oils, but if you’re working with acrylics, this stuff is for you! It works well and it’s a decent price. You just have to give it a little bit of time to dry (I use my hairdryer!) before painting on top of it.
  2. Sobo Craft Glue. LOVE this stuff! I used it in college and I’m still using it. The bond is nice and strong for on porous or semi-porous surfaces (like wood or ribbon), but it’s water based and easy to clean up.
  3. Mod Podge. I usually use the Matte finish (not glossy), but it comes in either. It’s a waterbase sealer, glue and finish. Creating textured surfaces with torn paper is super easy with some of this.
  4. Mod Podge Clear Acrylic Sealer. This is what I spray over my linoleum ink pattern backgrounds, it locks the ink in place (for the most part!). I then spray my finished work with it as a final protective coating.
  5. Speedball Inks and brayer. I have loved using the Speedball inks for linoleum block printing. The colors and consistency are wonderful and you clean it up with water. The metallic gold is my favorite and I mix it in with almost any color I choose for a little extra shimmer 🙂 In the picture below, you can see my brayer, new metal bench hook, gold ink, and linoleum block:
materials3

Tools used for block printing

I hope this information might be helpful to you in your artsy endeavors! Keep creating.

line

Standard

Leave a Reply

