Art & Creativity, Uncategorized, Works in Progress

Gifts for Niece and Nephew

This weekend, we had the sweet privilege of spending some quality time with In-laws and our adorable niece and nephew, Haleigh (3) and Caleb (1). We hadn’t seen them since our wedding, which was last January! Thinking it would be really fun to make them something (so they would have gifts from Uncle and Auntie when we arrived), I browsed a local antique store to find some inspiration. So I came across this adorable little vintage deer figurine, made in California:

deer_2

Isn’t this little deer so sweet? I had to paint him.

I also hope to incorporate this little deer into some Holiday related work. But back to the gifts. I then printed out the photo of this deer to incorporate into my painting:

IMG_7533

After adding in my background pattern and paint to the foreground

IMG_7536

After adding color to the figurine and attaching little silver flags.

Once my painting was finished, and after cutting out my little flags and glueing them on, I scanned the work into the computer. I then added the letters of my niece’s name to the banner and added a verse reference: “As the deer pants for the water brooks, so my soul pants for you, O God.” (NIV)

H2_wall

Finished art to be used on the wall hanging for Haleigh.

Then I adjusted the colors a little bit, digitally, to create the wall hanging art for Caleb:

C2_wall

I mostly focused on adjusting the background color for Caleb’s.

I then printed them out, mounted them on 8×10 boards and attached some ribbon for hanging. They’re fun! I wish I had images of the finished product, but alas, I was in such a rush that I forgot to take photos. You’ll just have to IMAGINE how cute they are all finished up and hanging in their rooms 🙂

line

Standard

2 thoughts on “Gifts for Niece and Nephew

  1. Debbie. :-) says:

    Adorable and can’t wait to see them in person! 🙂 And I still love seeing your works in progress. SOOO FUN! Hugs and love, Debbie 🙂

Leave a Reply

