Art & Creativity, From the Vault, Uncategorized

From the Vault: Texture

Today’s “From the Vault”, comes from my typography class (I think), which I know seems a little strange because it’s a drawing of the soles of shoes. But these images were just two of a series of different mediums, which were used to create texture. A also used letterforms, arrows and a few other elements to create some type of texture.

Texture is one of my very favorite aspects of the work I’m doing now. I’m always trying to figure out new ways to create a tactile surface or add a little dimensionality to my paintings. Texture adds a certain depth and richness that I find so fascinating, and when combined with the right color combination, it can be really magical 🙂

So here’s my drawing from the past, I don’t think I have the patience I used to when it comes to detailed drawings! But of course I had the extra motivation for getting good grades back then…

shoes1

Ever notice the textures on the soles of your shoes?

shoes2

The shoelaces add to the texture as well.

Happy Monday to you, here’s to a wonderful new week.

line

Standard

3 thoughts on “From the Vault: Texture

  1. Debbie. :-) says:

    Actually, I’ve looked for the ‘patterns’ on shoes more than the ‘texture’ — but it was to make sure I wouldn’t slip/slide too much if/when i wore the shoes. 😉 I don’t think I’ve thought to specifically use texture for art (though I do use ‘touch’ a lot) so thank you for sharing this wonderful idea! 🙂
    AND we so enjoyed seeing you and your latest works of art during the ‘art walk’. The textures you use add such a wonderful dimensional element to your art. So beautiful and fun! With joy and love, Debbie 😉

  2. Debbie. :-) says:

    P.S. ;-). I forgot to tell you that I found the details and textures in your ‘vault’ work to be terrific! I’m sure you must have gotten A’s!. 😉 Love, ‘mil’ 😉

Leave a Reply

