Art & Creativity, Life Inspiration

Disappointment as Fuel

Disappointment.

dis·ap·point·ment /ˌdisəˈpointmənt/

(Noun) The feeling of sadness or displeasure caused by the nonfulfillment of one’s hopes or expectations.

It happens to all of us, right? Sometimes we hold expectations we didn’t even realize we had, until they’re laying in front of us in a million tiny pieces. My current disappointment is rooted in some expectations I’m realizing I had going in to my first art showing in California. Without going too much in to detail, suffice to say I spent the better part of yesterday morning trying to “get my head back into the game,” figuring out where to take these unmet expectations. 

Perhaps you feel like you failed in some way. Whether the failure is big or small, sports-related, family-related, career-related (you get the picture), it can be really easy to take the disappointment and beat yourself up over it (which is definitely what I started to do!). But where does that get anyone? What if, instead, you acknowledge the expectations you initially had, revise if necessary and set some new goals? Man, when I started to look at my “failure” as more of an experience to learn from and less of a mess up, I started to get a renewed flow of adrenaline. I know, based on the wise words of other creatives I’ve been talking with, that this journey as a full-time artist takes a lot of TIME and DETERMINATION. Such is the case of many challenges we face in life. We can either get pushed over by the challenges, or use the weight of them to our advantage.

The Good Lord knows that we’re wired to want to “succeed” the first time at everything we do, but He also knows that instant success every time does nothing to develop our character. So what will you do with the so called failures and disappointments that you come up against? At first I just got bummed out. But now I think I’m going to keep painting. 

Here are a few sneak peaks at the subject matter involved in my next two paintings.

Wine is NOT the answer to disappointment 🙂 But it’s certainly enjoyable with some good company and conversation…

To be used in my next collage/painting.

To be used in my next painting.

And who doesn’t LOVE a good, classic, typewriter? I wish I owned this one, but at least I had the privilege of snapping a few photos of it the other day…

typewriter_bw

The subject of my next, next collage/painting.

Keep pushing on…nothing really good ever comes easy. At least not in my experience 🙂

Standard

6 thoughts on “Disappointment as Fuel

  1. Erica Pridey says:

    Beautifully said, Holly. I have heard my brother say many of the same things about pursuing a professional golf career.

    • That’s encouraging to hear, Erica! I think of you down there in the Springs…how is it going?? I hope and pray that you’re loving the new job!

  2. Debbie. :-) says:

    Precious girl: What a wonderful way of looking ‘at’ and ‘using’ disappointment! Keep up that creative spirit and determination! 🙂 You have also definitely been ‘creatively gifted’ by God in many wonderful ways. Thank you for sharing another part of yourself so that I may also learn. 🙂

Leave a Reply

