Asia, Life Inspiration, Uncategorized

Wandering Nomad

nomad n.

1. A member of a group of people who have no fixed home and move according to the seasons from place to place in search of food, water, and grazing land.2. A person with no fixed residence who roams about; a wanderer.

Because of the high and dry climate of Inner Asia, herding animals is one of the best uses of an agriculturally unproductive land (aside from maybe a game of ultimate frisbee). Known as nomadic pastoralists, people who follow this lifestyle move with their animals to optimal pasturlands throughout the year. Tibetan nomads form one of the highest societies on the planet, often crossing passes over 6,000 meters above sea level (19,685 ft!!).

Hmm. I think I can relate to these folks in some ways. Granted, their red blood cell count is probably way higher than mine. HOWEVER, my mailing address will soon change for the 9th time in 6 years. That qualifies as a little bit nomadic, right?

Purpose and direction. I feel kind of like a nomad in these arenas as well. My purpose right now is to teach conversational English to college students, sharing light and love with them in the process. But my direction feels like it has halted from forward motion and staying focused on the purpose has proven to be a challenge.

Do you ever feel like this? Like you’re wandering in the wilderness and perhaps you’ve lost sight of what it was you initially set out to do? I wouldn’t say I’m quite to that point yet, but I have to keep bringing my eyes back to the purpose, spending this extra “unplanned” time to prepare for that purpose. Father, please be my guiding light in the wilderness…

Standard

Leave a Reply

