Asia, Life Inspiration, Uncategorized

Tibet?

I think that’s what I said, very loudly, with a somewhat shocked inflection when told where I would be teaching for the next 2.5 years, “Tibet?!”

This was followed by the realization that Tibet is a place I know nothing about, shrouded in mystery and intrigue. If I’m going to live there, I had better do some research.

So, for those inquiring minds, here are a few fun facts for you:

  1. The capital of Tibet is Lhasa (where I’ll be living)
  2. Tibet is the highest region on Earth and is commonly referred to as the ‘Roof of the World’
  3. The currency of Tibet is Chinese Yuan Renminbi
  4. The most famous animal belonging to Tibet is Yak
  5. The world’s highest mountain Mt. Everestis located on the border of Nepal and Tibet
  6. Tibetan Buddhism is the most widely followed religion in Tibet
  7. The total population of Tibet at the end of 2000 was 2.62 million
    (Iloveindea.com)

More to come, I’m very sure, I look forward to sharing what I learn with you! And I’ll let you know how I feel about yack butter…

Standard

15 thoughts on “Tibet?

  1. Adam says:

    Nice!! Take lots and lots of pictures. I know everyone here will want to see what you’re up to.

    And you’ll have to let us know if they recruit you for the Tibetan National Basketball Team.

    Ha!

  2. Jana says:

    I love the pictures – how reflective of your journey to this place – soaring like an eagle in the arms of the father.

    We are thinking of you often and cannot wait to hear more about your amazing journey!
    J

  3. Kay says:

    Hey Holly – so good to hear about your adventure. Is this a photo of your laundry? Oh wait… it’s flags. Looks like my clothesline when I hang out my clothes. We all miss u soooo much! 🙂 Keep us posted.

  4. Judy Mullins says:

    Holly ~ I’ve thought a lot about your journey since you left and I want you to know how very much I admire what you’re doing.
    The Father has marvelous plans for you and what a fine ambassador you’re going to be for Him.
    Take care…and remember to write often to your parents!
    Miss you.

  5. Sue says:

    Holly —

    Well, you love the mountains. So…why not Tibet? Also, a high location for a high energy person!

    What a wonderful spot to stay connected with the Father of All Creation! Just look around you!

    What, most recently, has warmed your heart? (We Methodists are really into having our hearts “strangely warmed”. Will explain when you’re back among us).

    Joy and Peace,

    Sue

Leave a Reply

